Teik C. Lim

President, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Dr. Teik C. Lim is the 9th President of New Jersey Institute of Technology and also holds the title of Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering. Prior to joining NJIT on July 1, 2022, Dr. Lim he led the University of Texas at Arlington (UTA) as interim president from 2020-2022 and was Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at UTA from 2017-2020.

Dr. Lim’s career has spanned from the private sector to university administration. He worked as an engineer at Structural Dynamics Research Corporation before joining The Ohio State University Center for Automotive Research as a research scientist. He taught at the University of Alabama beginning in 1998, as associate professor, before joining the University of Cincinnati in 2002, where he advanced from associate professor to professor to department head and to associate dean for graduate studies and research before, ultimately, being named Dean of the College of Engineering and Applied Science.

Dr. Lim earned his Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (ME) from Michigan Technological University, his Master of Science in ME from the University of Missouri-Rolla, and his Ph.D. in ME from The Ohio State University.

Dr. Lim is internationally recognized as a leading scholar in the field of structural vibrations and acoustics as well as modeling and simulation technology. He was named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors in 2018. He is Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and of the Society of Automotive Engineers, from which he received numerous research and teaching awards such as the Arch T. Colwell Merit Award in 2003 and the Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award in 2002. Dr. Lim also was recognized with the Thomas French Alumni Achievement Award in 2010, the GearLab Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2017, and the Distinguished Alumni Award for Academic Excellence in 2019 from his alma mater, The Ohio State University.